A family vacation just isn't the same without the whole family, so AMHS also welcomes pets aboard our vessels. Although pets must remain on the car deck in a suitable pet carrier during travel, owners are given the opportunity to attend to pets several times per day during extended sailing legs. Due to Coast Guard regulations passengers are not allowed on the car deck while vessels are underway, but owners will have the opportunity to disembark and walk their pets while vessels are in port.

Dogs, cats, and other household pets cost $25 to transport to and from Bellingham, and $10 to transport to and from Prince Rupert; travel between any of our other ports is free. There is no charge on any route for a certified service animal accompanying a person with a disability. Service animals do require prior approval so that shipboard staff can be properly notified. Certain small birds which may be at risk due to car deck temperatures must have prior approval for transport above deck.  If approved, a damage deposit and certain restrictions will apply.

What qualifies as a pet?

Please call the central reservations office at (800) 642-0066 for information on transporting animals other than dogs or cats.

What rules apply to pets?

Your pet must have a health certificate with proof of current rabies vaccination, issued within 30 days of travel. Regulations may limit transportation across borders, so be sure to check with U.S. and Canada Customs for details. There is no charge for a certified service animal accompanying a person with a disability. Pets must remain inside a vehicle or kennel during the voyage. Pet calls are allowed while vessels are in port or during scheduled visits. You can find more information on the web site of the State Veterinarian.

The state of intended destination may impose additional requirements. Contact the state veterinarian of the appropriate state(s) for further information. To find out the requirements to bring an animal into Washington, please call: Washington State Vet's Office in Dept of Agriculture: (360) 902-1878. For phone numbers of other state veterinarian offices, go to the area offices page on the USDA web site.

Penalties for non-compliance vary from state to state, but may include animal quarantine or prohibited entry of the animal into the state.

A certificate of health is not required when traveling between Alaskan ports. For travel by road through Canada, proof of a rabies vaccination within the last three years is required, but passengers should check directly with Canadian customs for additional information.

Pet Policy

Pets must remain on the car decks of all AMHS vessels, and be cared for by their owners. This means they must stay either in vehicles or in suitable pet carriers (not provided by AMHS), which must also remain on the car deck. Pets are not allowed above the car deck or in passenger cabins. Owners may visit their pets on the car deck only while vessels are in port. Due to United States Coast Guard regulations, passengers are not allowed on the car deck while vessels are underway, unless accompanied by an AMHS employee. Accompanied pet calls are announced by the purser approximately three times a day on longer sailings between Bellingham and Ketchikan, and between Juneau and Whittier.

Dogs, cats, and other household pets cost $25 to transport to and from Bellingham, and $10 to transport to and from Prince Rupert. Travel between other AMHS ports is free, and there is no charge on any route for a certified service animal traveling with a person with a disability. Service animals do require prior approval from the Traffic Manager so that shipboard staff can be properly notified.

Certain small birds at risk of death due to car deck temperatures also must have prior approval from the Traffic Manager to be allowed in passenger's cabin. A cash only damage deposit is required.

If entering the State, animals must meet the State of Alaska requirements. Following is a reproduction of this regulation:

Sec. 03.55.070. TRANSPORTATION OF ANIMALS ON STATE FERRIES: HEALTH CERTIFICATES. (a) No animals may be transported into the State aboard a ferry operated by the Alaska Marine Highway System (AMHS) of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities unless the animal's owner, custodian, or attendant possesses a valid health certificate for the animal. This certificate shall accompany the animal or be in the possession of the animal's owner, custodian, or attendant aboard the ferry and shall be presented when requested by an employee of the State Ferry System at the time the owner, custodian, or attendant makes arrangements to transport the animal, boards the ferry with the animal, or at any other time.

For phone numbers of other state veterinarian offices, go to: http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_health/area_offices/

Penalties for non-compliance vary from state to state, but may include animal quarantine or prohibited entry of the animal into the state.

A certificate of health is not required when traveling between Alaskan ports. For travel by road through Canada, proof of a rabies vaccination within the last three years is required, but passengers should check directly with Canadian customs for additional information.

Watch Our Pets Video

Schedule icon

Watch our pets video to learn more about bringing your family pet aboard Alaska Marine Highway ferries.