CHAPTER Finance		SECTION Revenues	APPROVED BY Signature on File		
Fees for Copying Public Records			New	New	
SUBJECT			SUPERSEDES	DATED	
Pol	licy and	d Procedure	EFFECTIVE DATE February 3,	, 2006	
	DEPARTME	STATE OF ALASKA ENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES	POLICY AND PROCEDURE NUMBER 06.04.040	PAGE 1 of 3	

PURPOSE

This formalizes the policy and procedure of the department on fees for copying public records in response to public requests.

POLICY

An employee who provides a copy of a public record to the public on request will charge a fee for the copy. A fee of \$5 or less will be waived. A fee higher than \$5 may be reduced or waived if the commissioner determines in writing that the reduction or waiver is in the public interest.

This policy and procedure (P&P) implements portions of Alaska Statute (AS) 40.25 (Public Record Disclosures) and related regulations in the Alaska Administrative Code (6 AAC 96.300-460). Fees authorized elsewhere in statutes or regulations for specific copies, such as bid documents and standards manuals, are not addressed in this P&P.

Employees are cautioned to exercise care in making a determination that a record is subject to disclosure under the law. Employees who receive frequent, large, complex, or unusual requests should familiarize themselves with the statutes and regulations cited above before acting on the requests.

PROCEDURE

Fees to Be Charged

For paper copies, the fee schedule is shown in the attachment.

For electronic copies of records maintained in electronic form, the fee is the actual cost of supplies used in filling the request.

For electronic services and products as defined in AS 40.25.220, the fee is the actual cost of supplies used in filling the request and the actual salary and benefits cost of the

STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Transportation & Public Facilities POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL

Policy and Procedure 06.04.040 Fees for Copying Public Records Effective: February 3, 2006 Page 2 of 3

employees providing the service. Fees may be waived or reduced if the electronic services and products are to be used for a public purpose, including public agency program support, nonprofit activities, journalism, and academic research.

Additional fees will be charged for copies of records in any format requiring significant personnel effort:

AS 40.25.110(c) If the production of records for one requestor in a calendar month exceeds five person-hours, the public agency shall require the requester to pay the personnel costs required during the month to complete the search and copying tasks. The personnel costs may not exceed the actual salary and benefit costs for the personnel time required to perform the search and copying tasks. The requester shall pay the fee before the records are disclosed, and the public agency may require payment in advance of the search.

When Fees Must Be Paid

Except in the case of news organizations, fees must be paid before the records are disclosed. If the search for a public record is expected to generate a fee under AS 40.25.110(c), the fee must be paid before the search begins. If the request for a search is from a news organization or a representative of a news organization, and the search is reasonably expected to require more than five hours to complete, see 6 AAC 96.360(c).

Accounting for Payments

Payments received will be accounted for in accordance with Chapter 50 of the Alaska Administrative Manual. An employee who receives a payment is required to take specific, immediate actions. Contact a DOT&PF finance office for guidance.

AUTHORITY

AS 40.25 6 AAC 96.300-460

IMPLEMENTATION RESPONSIBILITY

Deputy commissioners, regional directors, division directors, and system directors/ managers

DISTRIBUTION

All department employees via the DOT&PF website

STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Transportation & Public Facilities POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL

Policy and Procedure 06.04.040 Fees for Copying Public Records Effective: February 3, 2006 Page 3 of 3

Attachment

<u>Original</u>	<u>Copy</u>	Copy Fee
Paper, 8 1/2x11 or 8 1/2x14 Single- or double-sided	Paper, 8 1/2x11 or 8 1/2x14 Single- or double-sided	\$.25/sheet
Microfilm (not plans)	Paper, 8 1/2x11 or 8 1/2x14 Single-sided	\$.25/sheet
Microfiche (not plans)	Paper, 8 1/2x11 or 8 1/2x14 Single-sided	\$.25/sheet
Microfiche plans	Paper, single-sided 11x17 22x34 or 24x36	\$3.25/sheet \$6.50/sheet
Paper half-size plans, 11x17 or 11x18	Paper half-size plans, 11x17 or 11x18, single-sided	\$1.00/sheet
Paper blue/blackline plans 22x34 or 24x36	Paper blue/blackline plans 22x34 or 24x36, single-sided	\$2.00/sheet
Mylar/polyester film 22x34 or 24x36	Paper blue/blackline plans 22x34 or 24x36, single-sided	\$6.00/sheet
Mylar/polyester film 22x34 or 24x36	Paper plans, single-sided 11x17 or 11x18 22x34	\$1.00/sheet \$2.00/sheet
Electronic plans	Paper plans, single-sided 11x17 or 11x18 22x34	\$1.00/sheet \$2.00/sheet