Driver Crash Reporting - Frequently Asked Questions
Tap question to show/hide answer.
Why do I have to fill out a driver report?
It's the law!
In motor vehicle crashes where the damage is less than a certain dollar amount, no apparent significant injuries occurred, and police or local law enforcement jurisdiction did not investigate, Alaska developed the driver report (Form 12-209) to provide the user a way to self-report a crash and provide documentation to his or her insurance company.
What do I do if I don't have information on the other vehicle or driver?
In some instances you will not have all the information you need about the other motor vehicle or people involved in the crash. Simply put unknown or N/A in the field.
Why can't I fill out and submit my form online?
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles is unable to receive an electronic version of this crash form so it must be printed and mailed.
How long do I have to submit my form?
Crash forms are required within 10 days and Certificate of Insurance within 15 days of the crash date.
How do I obtain a copy of a form I previously submitted?
Driver crash reports are not stored electronically by the State of Alaska. The State agency charged with maintaining driver crash reports is the Division of Motor Vehicles. Requests for copies of previously submitted reports should be made to them.
Where do I mail my completed report?
Mail your completed report to:
- State of Alaska
- DMV Main Office
- P.O. Box 110221
- Juneau, AK 99811-0221
- Phone: (907) 465-4361
- Fax: (907) 465-5509
For inquiries regarding the form, submission deadlines, driver license or insurance, please contact DMV at (907) 465-4361.